

10th Meeting of the Heads of State and Government of the South-East European Co-operation Process (SEECP)

Zagreb Final Act on the enhancement of the South East European Cooperation Process

We, the Heads of State and Government of the South East European Cooperation Process Participating States, Presidents: Mr. Stjepan Mesić, Mr. Branko Crvenkovski, Mr. Vladimir Voronin and Prime Ministers: Dr. Sali Berisha, Dr. Nikola Špirić, Mr. Sergei Stanishev, Dr. Ivo Sanader, Chairman-in-Office, Mr. Konstantinos Karamanlis, Mr. Željko Šturanović, Mr. Călin Popescu – Tăriceanu; Minister of Economy and EU Chief Negotiator, Mr. Ali Babacan and Minister of International Economic Relations, Mr. Milan Parivodić have met in Zagreb on 11 May 2007 at the 10th Meeting of the Heads of State and Government of the SEECP, together with the Speaker of the Parliament, Mr. Vladimir Šeks.

In the presence of the Special Invitees of the Croatian SEECP Chairmanship-in-Office: President of the European Council, Chancellor, Dr. Angela Merkel; President of the European Parliament, Dr. Hans-Gert Pöttering; President of the European Commission, Mr. Jose Manuel Barroso; Prime Minister Janez Janša; Federal Minister for Economics and Labour, Mr. Martin Bartenstein; Undersecretary of State Nicholas Burns; Member of the European Commission, Dr. Olli Rehn; Secretary General of the OSCE, Ambassador Marc Perrin de Brichambaut; Deputy Secretary General of NATO, Ambassador Alessandro Minuto-Rizzo; Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe, Ms. Maud de Boer-Buquicchio; Special Co-ordinator of the Stability Pact for South Eastern

Europe, Dr. Erhard Busek; Special Representative of the UN Secretary General and Head of UNMIK, Mr. Joachim Rücker; Deputy Special Envoy for the Future Status Process for Kosovo, Dr. Albert Rohan; Special Envoy for the Western Balkans, Mr. Antonio Tânger; National Co-ordinator for Stability Pact, Mr. Jan Amberg; Ambassador Mihail Konarovski and Ambassador Elisabeth Walaas.

In the presence of the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs Mr. Ivailo Kalfin; Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs and European Integration, Mr. Andrei Stratan; the Ministers for Foreign Affairs: Mr. Lulzim Basha, Mr. Sven Alkalaj, Ms. Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović; Deputy Foreign Ministers: Mr. Ioannis Valinakis, Mr. Zoran Petrov; Secretary General, Mr. Vladimir Radulović; State Secretary for European Affairs, Mr. Adrian Vieriţa and Assistant Minister, Mr. Radojko Bogojević.

*

Reaffirming the principles and objectives of the Charter on Good Neighbourly Relations, Stability, Security and Cooperation in South Eastern Europe (Bucharest, 2000) and subsequent SEECP Summit Declarations and documents;

Reiterating our commitment to the continuous development of good neighbourly relations and regional cooperation in South Eastern Europe;

Recognizing the historical opportunity and crucial importance of the European integration processes for building the South Eastern Europe as a region of democracy, security, stability, prosperity and cooperation, respecting human rights and the rights of persons belonging to minorities and integrated into the European and Euro-Atlantic structures;

Underlining the importance of the leading role of the SEECP in furthering cooperation in our part of Europe, in line with the enhancement of the regional ownership principle;

Dedicating our efforts to continued, strong and effective coordination of our cooperation through the common endeavours of the SEECP, the European Union and other international partners;

Appreciating the valuable role and contribution of the Stability Pact for the South Eastern Europe in fostering stability, development and cooperation in our region;

Praising the Croatian Chairmanship-in-Office for successfully leading the region in the process of the transformation of the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe and strengthening the leadership role of the SEECP in regional cooperation;

Welcoming the Republic of Montenegro as the 11th Participating State of the SEECP;

Approving the decisions of the SEECP Foreign Ministers Meeting of 2 March 2007 in Zagreb;

Welcoming the decisions taken at the Meeting of the Regional Table of the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe on 10 May 2007 in Zagreb to continue its transition process;

HAVE DECIDED TO

Sign the Protocol to the Charter on Good Neighbourly Relations, Stability, Security and Cooperation in South Eastern Europe;

Endorse the establishment of the Regional Cooperation Council by February 2008 on the basis of its agreed Statute, thus providing the SEECP with operational capabilities as well as with a forum for the continued involvement of the members of the international donor community engaged in South East Europe;

Approve the decisions of the SEECP Foreign Ministers Meeting of 10 May 2007 in Zagreb on the following:

- 1. The Designation of Sarajevo as the Seat of the Regional Cooperation Council Secretariat;
- 2. The Appointment of Mr. Hido Biščević as the Secretary General of the Regional Cooperation Council.

Adopted in Zagreb on 11 May 2007